An attempt to organize my learnin’

Hi, future readers.  I’m Nidhi, and I’m learning to code (You’re now supposed to say, “Hi, Nidhi” and tell me that I’m in a safe space to share my feelings.)

The “TL;DR” version of the mess below: This blog is to help me track my coding progress, help me problem-solve, & share some nuggets of knowledge. I’m also going to be an Opportunity Fund Fellow at General Assembly for Jan 2016, so I’ll probably be talking about that soon!

b7e

_____________________________________________________

I’m starting this blog for a few reasons:

  1. I want a way to discuss the problems I’m facing as I’m learning.
  2. I am one of those people who needs to write things down/read them to remember them.  Which is why I don’t know people’s names unless they wear name tags. (I still call my boyfriend ‘you’)
  3. Hopefully I can harness good ol’ societal pressure to persuade me to make cooler things. Like a web app that will automatically make your friends purchase everything in your “Save for Later” section on Amazon. Such a brilliant idea, amirite?
  4. There’s a slim chance that in the not-so-distant future, my ramblings will help someone as they learn.  If it’s in the distant future, then these words will mean nothing unless translated to Newspeak.
  5. I also want to (at some point!) have a solid list of free resources that can help self-learners out there with the basics of web development.  There are a plethora out there, and it’s hard to distinguish which the best are.  I remember the first hurdle I faced was “Well, I get the basics of coding….but WHERE DO I PUT MY CODE?!”  It’s amazing how many great coding resources don’t go over this.

A little about my me (besides the fact that I use A LOT OF PARENTHESES WHEN I WRITE):

I majored in Math & Film in college, and specialized in digital media. I took a few non-major CS courses in college, but tended to feel discouraged and confused at times (without then realizing that ~*everyone*~ feels this way when learning to code).  Also, coding seemed dull at the time and anytime someone said ‘database’ I would tune out, so I didn’t go out of my way to become a CS genius.  After I moved to the Bay Area for a fellowship at Khan Academy, I became more interested in the possibilities of technology and design.  I’m especially fascinated in using coding for creative +design endeavors – i.e. interactive storytelling, education (see: Explorable Explanations), and interaction design.

In mid-January, I’ll start as an Opportunity Fund Fellow at General Assembly’s  Web Development Bootcamp, where I’ll be learning to code full-time for three months.  I’m pretty excited about this, though I know I have a lot to learn beforehand to make good use of my time.

Where I am now in my learnin’:

  • I’ve gotten pretty familiar with HTML/CSS, though I’m realizing lately that there is a lot more to know about CSS (and how terrible it can be when you just want it to do a simple thing)
  • I’ve become more comfortable with JavaScript in terms of syntax and basic logic (using for/while loops for iteration, using collections, etc.).   I’m also getting familiar with jQuery, though it’s far from rolling off the tips of my fingers.
  • I’m now using Terminal for things (big step!) and have gotten over my fear of committing things to GitHub. I also know how to host my site locally now. Things are looking up. I still haven’t gotten used to putting a project up for the world to see yet.
  • I have taught myself ~some ~Ruby (from Aug-October), but now have forgotten most of it. I also learned more about specs and tests using testfirst.org.
  • I’m still learning about how computers work.  It seems important to know considering I spend the majority of my time on one….though I think I enjoy tinkering more so than I enjoy knowing about the reason why it works.
  • Currently, I’m working on publishing a simply “Rock, Paper, Scissors” app using HTML/CSS + JavaScript/jQuery.

Okay, this ended up being significantly longer than I intended.

Bye!

 

 

Leave a Reply

